Skip to content

Coronavirus in Leicester (ALPHA Test site)

Get the latest information and advice

Term dates

Information on term dates for the 2020-21 school year in Leicester.

Important information about term dates - Coronavirus

All pupils, in all year groups, will start to return to school full-time from the beginning of the autumn term. We understand that some parents may have concerns about their children returning to school. You should make contact with your child's school or check the school website to check the opening date so your child doesn’t miss their first day back. 

Term dates

The information below shows the date patterns we set, which all maintained and voluntary controlled schools in the city are obliged to follow. Please note that each school will close to pupils on 3 days during the academic year for teacher training. Schools can choose different dates on which to close, so we strongly advise that you check with your own school directly to confirm their own term dates.

Academies and free schools are able to set their own term dates.  If your child attends an academy or a free school, you should check with the school directly to ask them about their own term dates.

School term and holiday dates 2020/21

Autumn term 2020

Open / Closure/ Holidays Dates
Schools open Wednesday 26 August 2020
Schools close Friday 16 October 2020
Autumn half term Monday 19 October to Friday 23 October 2020
Schools open Monday 26 October 2020
Schools close Friday 18 December 2020
Christmas and new year holiday Monday 21 December 2020 to Monday 4 January 2021

Spring term 2021

Open / Closure / Holidays Dates
Schools open Tuesday 5 January 2021
Schools close Friday 12 February 2021
Spring half term Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021
Schools open Monday 22 February 2021
Schools close Friday 26 March 2021
Easter holidays Monday 29 March to Friday 9 April 2021

Summer term 2021

Open / Closure / Holidays Dates
Schools open Monday 12 April 2021
Bank holiday Monday 3 May 2021
Schools close Friday 28 May 2021
Summer half term Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June 2021
Schools open Monday 7 June 2021
Schools close Friday 9 July 2021
Summer holiday begins Monday 12 July 2021

Future term dates

School term and holiday date patterns to 2021/22 can be viewed below.